Using Folder Tracks

You can use folder tracks to combine a selection of tracks for visual organization, summing, and editing. 

folder-tracks.png

In this article

How Folder Tracks Work

Folder tracks allow you to instantly create a bus track with all tracks routed to the bus, but also provide grouping features not included with buses.

  • Folders can be created from a selection of other tracks. Folders can also be nested (moved inside other folders).
  • Tracks that are in a folder can be removed from the folder, and tracks that are not in a folder can be moved into a folder.
  • Folders can be renamed and recolored. All tracks in the folder inherit the folder color when changed.
  • Folders can be collapsed/expanded by clicking the folder icon.
  • A folder can be removed while keeping all folder items. A folder can also be deleted with all contents.
  • You can make individual edits and adjustments to tracks in a folder. However, adjusting the folder track (for example, adjusting volume, adding a plug-in or send, or editing a selection on the timeline) does the same to all folder items.
  • Because a folder is a bus track, you can add summing Extensions in the Summing slot.

Creating a Folder Track from Existing Tracks

1. Select tracks in the timeline or mixer.
2. Right-click a track header, a track name in the mixer, or in the Tracks browser, and choose Create Folder from Tracks.

A folder is created containing the selected tracks.

Creating an Empty Folder Track

In the New Tracks dialog, select Folder as the track type. You can select Summing, Tape, and Console Extensions when creating the folder. 

create-new-folder.png

Adding and Removing Tracks from a Folder

  • To add a track to a folder, in the timeline, mixer, or Tracks browser, right-click on a track and choose Move to Folder, then select the folder.
  • To remove a track from a folder, in the timeline, mixer, or Tracks browser, right-click on a track and choose Move to Folder, then select [Remove from Folder].

Removing a Folder Track

Warning: The command Delete Folder with Contents deletes the folder track and all tracks contained within it. This action can be undone, but should still be used with caution. 

  • To delete a folder track and keep the folder items, in the timeline, mixer, or Tracks browser, right-click on a folder track and select Remove Folder. Note that the Folder is converted to a bus track in your session, not completely deleted.
  • To delete a folder track and all tracks within the folder, in the timeline, mixer, or Tracks browser, right-click on a folder track and select Delete Folder with Contents.
     

Articles in this section

See more